Wallentine’s day

Can you believe it? I lost my wallet yesterday, on Valentine’s day. From now on, I’d call Feb 14th, ‘Wallentine’s Day’. The day I lost my wallet.

Things I’ve learned:

1. Pickpockets don’t have holidays. Think about it if you plan to work as one: no health insurance, no annual leave, no day off (you’re obliged to work on weekends). In my case, it’s an irony that my wallet was stolen on the sacred day of love, the day people are supposed to show love and affection to one another.

2. Buy your own wallet. I’ve lost 3 wallets and they all were gifts from my friends. The ones I bought myself stay with me, eventhough I have another problem: I soon abhor them. Think they’re ugly (‘What was I thinking when I bought this?’). With gifts, everything seem perfect and nice. Call this a jinx.

3. Do have someone to rely on. I was lucky that my cells were not stolen too. I could immediately informed my friend that I just lost a wallet and I need to borrow some cash. If your friend is not reliable, you’re dead meat! :))

4. Call your banks to block your cards. You will speak to a helpful customer service officer, even though you have to answer some sily questions such as, what is your mother’s maiden name? She had not been a virgin for 30 years now, for heaven’s sake!

5. Go to the gym after someone snatched your valuables. It works for me. First, you can transfer those energy (a.k.a. anger) and bad vibes. After you do a hard-core cardio session, join a yoga class. It calms your troubled mind, enabling you to see things clearer and find a positive state of mind. For those with no gym membership (hehe..), just practice ujjayi breathing technique (diaphragmatic breath which increases oxygenation and builds internal body heat, resulting in balanced and calm feeling).

6. Eat a lot. Darn…I deserve it! I lost my wallet on Valentine’s day!

7. Don’t put the print-out of Java Jazz/Jason Mraz’ online ticket in your wallet. Now I must call Java Productions to explain that my wallet, along with my online ticket and ID card, was stolen. Anyone trying to redeem the ticket with my ID is not me. I’ll redeem it on March 3rd, showing the copy of my passport.

8. Although you call it backpack, don’t wear it accordingly! In Jakarta, especially in places with questionable crowds. Even in a ‘respected place’ such as Plaza Senayan my friend lost her cellphones. And she put it in..guess what…yep..her backpack.

9. Stay calm. Nine years ago, I lost my wallet for the first time. My reaction was: calling my parents from wartel (belon punya hape bos ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and crying my eyes out! Today I responded better: as soon as I realized my wallet was not there, I called my bank to block my cards. Next, I text my friend telling her my situation and let her know I need some cash. I asked another friend for bank locations that open on weekends (so I know where I can withdraw my money tomorrow). The last thing I did was call my mom to inform her I need a new ID card. And no tears. Gee, I’m a big girl. I’m so proud of myself ๐Ÿ˜‰ huahahahahhahahha…

10. Count your blessings. I’m so thankful I still got my cells. My Nike shoes were not taken (those pair are the most expensive among my 30+ shoes collection. Now I know why I only own one pair of sneakers, they are so darn expensive!!!), my underwear was still there (it’s cute, floral print with little hearts ๐Ÿ˜€ Heehee..no it’s not my point. Undies are very personal. The snatcher’s got my photos and my date of birth. If he took my undies as well, I would officially FREAK OUT), my make-up case stayed gracefully intact (got a lot of things there. It will be frustrating and cost me a fortune to replace them), and last but not least, for the fact that I’m still in one piece. Hahahaha…Javanese mentality, always feel grateful and fortunate in every situation, even in the ‘unfortunate’ one ๐Ÿ˜€

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thea
    Feb 15, 2009 @ 12:29:55

    sorry to hear that, dear

    Reply

  2. fennychandra
    Feb 15, 2009 @ 18:33:04

    Thanks a lot darling ๐Ÿ™‚

    I guess there was no love for me yesterday ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Reply

  3. rizka
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 14:35:56

    turut berduka ya fen..
    emang di jakarta itu mottonya adalah “waspadalah..waspadalah..”

    Reply

  4. fennychandra
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 22:00:49

    huhuhu…gw suka bgt dompet Ninewest dari kalian itu :(( *maap ya ga bisa menjaganya dengan benar*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

