Start Anew

It takes courage to say goodbye to one chapter and jump blindly to the next. And it takes a big heart to completely let go of past mistakes, heartaches and ‘what ifs’.

I once heard that the brightest future will always be based on a forgotten past, you can’t go forward in life until you let go of your past failures and heartaches. That way, only those of us having amnesia will have the brightest future. Yeah…I know I sound cynical. I agree more with walking in the sand analogy. Our journey in life is like a walk in the beach. We keep walking, try to enjoy the sun, sea breeze kissing our face, the feel of sand under our feet. Your footprints don’t stay long. The wind blows them away, the sea wipes them away. No matter how deep your footprints are, they don’t last. It’s the same with your heartaches. It is okay to walk in tears. You’ll find that, after awhile, it won’t hurt that bad anymore. And you won’t bother to check your footprints. They are not there anyway.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ita
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 15:29:08

    sometimes i hope im d’one who has those amnesias…^_^

    Reply

  2. thea
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 18:36:05

    Start a new, keep the spirit flares:D

    Reply

  3. fennychandra
    May 02, 2008 @ 10:53:23

    yeah…me too! Especially when I’m broken-hearted T_T

    Reply

  4. Wahyu Purnomosidhi
    May 27, 2008 @ 10:15:48

    Fenny.. Did you write it because you see footprint on the sand or because you contemplated you past experience. I hoped that I got some amnesia, just like computer memory — we can delete, or copy or paste as we like. However, what we are today, the strength and ability that we have today come from the learning process of the past. We also learn from bad experience. Our memory saves that file. It’s OK but what we feel about past experience must be different. That day, we were sad, but now, when we remember that day, we shall not be sad :-). It’s about a matter of thought

    Reply

  5. fennychandra
    May 29, 2008 @ 18:08:55

    I choose not to look at my footprints. I won’t look back. I will keep walking, chin up, and I’ll be alright 🙂
    When I wrote this post, I was very sad. Instead of letting myself be victimized, I have decided to move on, embrace my life, without him.

    Reply

  6. Ippu
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 00:22:28

    We continue to walk and hope, that someday we can look back with a smile on our face.
    And when we are able to do that, we notice, that all we have left behind isn’t bad.

    Because there’s always something good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

