LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

Are you love?

My first encounter with this poem by Wislawa Szymborska (a Nobel prize winner) occured two years ago when I watched Turn Left Turn Right, a movie starred Takeshi Kaneshiro and Gigi Leung. Gigi played a translator who was doing translation of best-selling horror series yet she was far more interesting in translating Szymborska’s Love At First Sight. I believe that the poem is the spirit of the story and it touches everyone who reads it.I personally don’t believe such cheesy romantic stuffs as ‘love at first sight’, ‘dancing in the moonlight’, or ‘happily ever after’. Nevertheless this poem has just got the better of me since the first time I watched the movie. It’s moving yet logical, romantic yet honest… I do believe that everything happens for a reason, and everything’s made for the BIG thing. There’s no such thing as concidence. Fate makes things intertwined one another, at first we would not recognize its astonishing work of arts but there will come a day that we shake our heads and exclaim ‘So…this is it..!’I will say no more and leave you with English translation of Szymborska’s Love At First Sight. Enjoy! Hold in mind that,

Every beginning
is only a sequel, after all,
and the book of events
is always open halfway through’

LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

They’re both convinced
that a sudden passion joined them.
Such certainty is more beautiful,
but uncertainty is more beautiful still.
Since they’d never met before, they’re sure
that there’d been nothing between them.
But what’s the word from the streets, staircases, hallways–
perhaps they’ve passed by each other a million times?
I want to ask them
if they don’t remember–
a moment face to face
in some revolving door?
perhaps a “sorry” muttered in a crowd?
a curt “wrong number”caught in the receiver?–
but I know the answer.
No, they don’t remember.

They’d be amazed to hear
that Chance has been toying with them
now for years.

Not quite ready yet
to become their Destiny,
it pushed them close, drove them apart,
it barred their path,
stifling a laugh,
and then leaped aside.

There were signs and signals,
even if they couldn’t read them yet.
Perhaps three years ago
or just last Tuesday
a certain leaf fluttered
from one shoulder to another?
Something was dropped and then picked up.
Who knows, maybe the ball that vanished
into childhood’s thicket?

There were doorknobs and doorbells
where one touch had covered another
beforehand.
Suitcases checked and standing side by side.
One night. perhaps, the same dream,
grown hazy by morning.

Every beginning
is only a sequel, after all,
and the book of events
is always open halfway through 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. @yU CaNtiQuE
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 18:34:39

    This poem reminds me of someone. I have feel those way for few months, several years ago. It still hurt, now, just by remember it. That youth foolish moment. But, thank God, I met him. He changes my life, become… much2 better now

    Reply

    • musiclover
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 01:34:24

      lucky u ……my story started like that but it didn`t end up quite the same way as yours ,i descoverd in the end that it wasn`t true love not even near he heard me.. badly

      Reply

      • fennychandra
        Mar 30, 2011 @ 23:39:59

        Hey.. we share the same fate. I feel you sista! I’m giving my heart a break now. Don’t want to settle for some phonies.

  2. fennychandra
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 10:59:06

    That’s the magic of falling in love or finding someone new 🙂
    “semenjak ada dirimu, dunia terasa indahnya. semenjak kau ada di sini, ku mampu melupakannya”

    Reply

  3. closerocean
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 21:52:23

    Hi! I love that you included “Love at First Sight,” it’s one of my favorite Szymborska poems! I read her entire collection and I always find something that resonates with me.

    I actually created an entire album of pop songs based on her poetry. Love at First Sight is actually one of the songs in my collection!

    You can check us out at:

    http://www.closerocean.com

    or on itunes:

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/supercollider/id387574155

    also, you can follow us on facebook:

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Closer-Ocean/102043189851593?ref=ts

    Thanks for listening!

    Kevin

    Reply

  4. musiclover
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 01:36:58

    i ment he hurt me badly ………haha u understoode it anyway

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 04:22:24

    Hi, I love your picture with the heart and the light. Can I use it? Which Credit photo should I use?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

